Online Marketing Glossary C
Call to Action: a strong message in an advertisement that entices a prospect to perform a certain action (for example: Call Now, before it is too late!)
Canonical URL –many Content Management Systems are configured with dynamic URL’s that cause duplicate content issue and are not easily indexed by web spiders (for example /page id?=46). Canonical URL is a consistent structure with one page per link and easily indexed text (for example /seo-vocabulary).
Click Fraud – is illegal technique to manipulate CPC by either competitors or publishers to increase their revenue. It is estimated that at least 5% of any CPC campaign is click fraud. A good SEO company will try to monitor these clicks and file for refund.
Click Through Rate (CTR) – a ratio clicks on an ad to impressions of the ad. Higher CTR rate means that advertising campaign is highly targeted and can lower your CPC costs withing ad networks such as AdWords.
Cloaking – a Black Hat SEO technique that shows alternative content to Search Engines and human visitors. Cloaking will quickly get your website banned from search index.
Content Management System (CMS) – in the early days of Internet in order to update a web page a person needed to know HTML. These days there are special platforms that allow users controlling their webpages without knowing a code. CMS can be custom built, proprietary or open source (Joomla, Drupal, WordPress).
Contextual Advertising – advertising programs that generate relevant advertisements based on the content of a page. The king of contextual advertising is Google’s AdWords.
Conversion – term used to describe an action needed to be performed by a visitor to achieve website’s final goal. Examples of conversion can be : registration, completed sale, information request. Good SEO companies will use the amount of Conversions as a key performance indicator.
Conversion Rate – is a percentage of website’s visitors either paid or organic that perform the action defined as a conversion. Most of the tracking systems like Google Analytics and Google AdWords allow you to track your conversion rate, by setting appropriate goals.
Conversion Optimization –set of techniques used to increase conversion rate. Techniques can include: creating more targeted ads, creating more targeted content, creation of customized landing pages, usability tweaks and creation of strong call to action.
Cost Per Acquisition (CPA) –also known as Cost Per Action. A ration total cost to bring a traffic to the website to the amount of conversions. For example if you spent $100 on AdWords campaign and two people converted from the campaign, your CPA will be $50.
Cost Per Click (CPC) – also knows as Pay Per Click (PPC). An advertising method where advertiser pays only for clicks on the advertisement (for example AdWords).
Cost Per Thousand (CPM) –an advertising method where advertiser pays based on the number of times advertisement is shown, regardless if there are any clicks on the ad. CPM campaigns are typically used for branding purposes.
Crawler – also known as web spider or a robot. It is Search Engine’s program that analyses websites and collects data for Search Engines.